Posted in Observations

The 2015 Reading Forecast

Courtesy: http://www.123newyear.com/images/2015.jpg

I’m not the type to make resolutions. While I do embrace the new year as a time for a fresh start, I don’t feel that making vague declarations is the key to success. Much as the beginning of a new week or month can be inspiration, the new year can also help spark the desire to do things differently.

As many of you probably know, nebulous goals are rather useless. Phrases like “lose weight” or “be a better person” are well intentioned, but rarely are we able to truly measure these things. I might visit the bathroom after coffee one day and technically lose two pounds. Haven’t I lost weight? Let’s not even get into the classifications of being a “better” person.

As such, I’m not here to make any reading resolutions. There are a few things I’d like to accomplish pertaining to the act of reading, but I consider them goals more than so-called resolutions.

Read at least five books way outside my preferred genres. In past posts where I’ve discussed the end of year reading slump, I spoke about the potential for needing new content. I read a lot of science fiction and fantasy, sprinkled with historical fiction, urban fantasy, and the occasional literary fiction. I’d like to branch out and try some non-fiction on for size, as well as potentially some poetry.

Read at least five books I “missed” during my education. Each curriculum is different, often from county to county and state to state in the US. A lot of people absolutely read some things (To Kill a Mockingbird, Romeo and Juliet), but there are definitely a few books, authors, and poets that I’d like to ¬†experience that I never got assigned to read in class.

Re-read (or read) at least three books as an adult. This piggybacks off the “missed” books notion, here. I’ve read many books that I don’t feel like I truly appreciated. After re-reading To Kill A Mockingbird this summer and having a variety of insights about the characters and story that I didn’t have in ninth grade, I feel as though I should re-read some of the other works I might have missed the point of completely. This would include, almost definitely, The Great Gatsby, but also potentially things like The Crucible. I really disliked All The King’s Men, but then again, maybe I should give it a second chance.

Re-read and review three favorites. I’d like to publish reviews about some of my favorite books that I simply haven’t read while writing reviews for this blog. I’m not sure what this will consist of just yet, but I expect to have 1984 be one of those.

Overall, I’m just hoping to abolish this reading slump once and for all. It’s damned annoying, if nothing else.

Do you have any reading goals for this year?

One thought on “The 2015 Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

